Review On Sea Urchin

Review On Sea Urchin

Cover_original

When I was out shopping yesterday I came open this little comic called Sea Urchin by Laura Knetzger. Now I’m a hug sucker for art so I thought this would be a perfect book just to see a different art style. But what I got was a story as if someone was writing from inside my head. I truly felt a connect to this book. The story is mostly through the a woman and her thoughts. 

Untitled

At one point you’re reading about this woman questioning her existence. The next moment she’s patting a very cute dog. The whole style of the comic is all over the place. Not one liner story to follow. More like snippets into this woman’s head. I can almost feel how upset this woman is trying to figure things out and work through past the anxiety. 

I think the reason I loved this comic so much is that most of it was relatable. Not that I have to struggle to make art or go out to parties or anything. But the main ideas of the comic I feel I get. How it’s all too much…

Onto he art: the art is simplistic and smooth. It gives a nice feel to what the comics about. I feel like the art style completely complements the thoughts in the comic. I really liked the art, It made it easier to read the comic. It the comic kinda needed that since the tones were so dark.

dog dog1 yeh

Before doing this review I emailed Laura Knetzger if I could do this review. She was so nice, she said I could. She also emailed me over some other comics of her.  CatBurgular Cream and Flowering Vine. 

Both gorgeous comics in their own right. Flowering Vine is very similar to Sea Urchin. Catburgular is a cute story about a man, his cat and ice-cream! What more could you want?  

I’m so glad I picked up this little comic in store. I can now personally say it’s my favourite art comic I’ve ever owned. I hope other people will decided to pick it up and read it too. 

Screen Shot 2015-08-17 at 8.53.55 am Screen Shot 2015-08-17 at 8.57.38 amScreen Shot 2015-08-17 at 8.56.39 am

As a final sum up. Sea Urchin By Laura Knetzger is moving. I remember crying at certain bits because It just hit so close to home. This comic is amazing and so it the art. Not to Mention Laura is extremely kind and I hope she keeps up her amazing work. If I had to give a rating of this book it would honestly be a 9 out of 10. I’m going to keep it with me forever. ~ Peachy 

Leave a comment